Home »» Vegan Food and Drink »» Is Kimchi Vegan? Where to Buy Vegan Kimchi in the UK in 2024

Is Kimchi Vegan? Where to Buy Vegan Kimchi in the UK in 2024

Is kimchi vegan

Last updated on December 14th, 2023

It’s exciting to live in a time where trying cuisines from all over the world is possible, as a vegan it’s possible too. But more questions have to be asked at times, like…

Just a heads-up that some of the links on this site are affiliate links, which means that if you choose to purchase through one of these links, I’ll earn a small commission — at no extra cost to you. This helps keep my vegan adventures alive and kicking, so thank you! And as a member of the Amazon Associates Program, I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info please take a look at my privacy policy. Thanks for your support!

Is Kimchi Vegan? 

Yes, it’s easy to find vegan kimchi in the UK. 

Not all kimchi is suitable for plant-based and this is why you need to be aware, you can’t just pick up the first jar you see. You do need to look for a vegan logo or check the ingredients. 

When you Google ‘is kimchi vegan?’ most of the search results say no and this is down to the fact it often has fish sauce and fish paste in it.

But this isn’t always true and I’m worried that this information is the first thing vegans see. And as a result, they might be missing out on the interesting and wonderful food that is kimchi. Kimchi is definitely an option for vegans.

Is Kimchi Vegetarian?

Yes, you can buy vegetarian Kimchi online and in stores. As it’s usually fish that makes kimchi not vegetarian you can just look at my list below on where to buy vegan kimchi because they are the same thing.

Can I Buy Vegan Kimchi?

Yes, you can buy vegan kimchi and you don’t need to look that hard either. You can buy it online, in many large supermarkets such as Morrisons, Asda and Sainsbury’s and probably in your local wholefoods shop.

Buy Vegan and Vegetarian Kimchi Online

Get it on Amazon:

Buy Kimchi in UK Supermarkets

Buy Vegan Kimchi in Tesco

Get Vegan Kimchi in Asda

Buy Vegan Kimchi in Morrisons

Get Vegan Kimchi in Sainsbury’s

I could go on, but I hope it’s clear now that this is definitely a thing that vegans can enjoy too. You can buy vegan Kimchi in Morrisons, Asda and Sainsbury’s and many other shops and supermarkets.

Where to get vegan kimchi

What is Kimchi?

Kimchi is a traditional Korean food with a sour, spicy and sometimes sweet flavour. Lately, it’s becoming more and more popular in the UK as well as in other countries around the world because more people are starting to try and enjoy Korean food. 

Kimchi’s main ingredients include salted and fermented vegetables, such as napa cabbage and Korean radish. 

It typically comes in a small portion and is usually considered a side dish. It is fermented and often includes a number of different seasonings such as garlic and ginger so, it has a strong flavour and compliments many other Korean dishes.

What Is Kimchi Made Of? 

Kimchi is made of a range of different ingredients as there are many different variations of kimchi. Common ingredients you might find in kimchi include: 

  • Cabbage
  • Napa cabbage
  • Chilli peppers
  • Ginger
  • Salt
  • Garlic
  • Onion
  • Spring onion
  • Fish sauce
  • Shrimp paste

Is Traditional Kimchi Vegan? 

From my understanding, traditional it is not usually vegan because it often contains fish sauce, shrimp paste and maybe even jeotgal, which is salted seafood. However, the exact ingredients can depend on the region it comes from. 

What is Vegan Kimchi?

It is simply made entirely with plant-based ingredients. So, this means excluding ingredients such as fish sauce, shrimp paste or any other seafood. I’ve never eaten traditional kimchi so I can’t compare but I do feel that fishless kimchi works. This is probably because there are so many strong flavours already in the dish that the fish taste isn’t really missed.

Why Is Some Kimchi Not Suitable For Vegans? 

Some kimchi is not suitable for vegans because it may have ingredients that are not plant-based such as fish or different types of seafood sauces or pastes. But as I mentioned above, it is very easy to get plant-based kimchi. Almost every supermarket in the UK has it available. 

Where to find plant based kimchi

What’s The Difference Between Kimchi And Vegan Kimchi?

As mentioned above, there may be some kind of fish or seafood in it in traditional kimchi. So, the only real difference between the two is that the vegan version has no fish of any kind.

So, I hope in the future when people ask this question they’ll see that maybe originally it wasn’t, but these days it’s easily something us vegans can happily enjoy.

Looking for your next read Do Vegans Eat Honey? Everything vegans need to know about honey! Or Vegan Grazing Box Ideas – Vegan graze boxes and platters

Meet the Author

Author Bio - Sinead OCarroll - The Wondering Wandering Vegan

Meet Sinead O’Carroll: Vegan explorer, sustainability advocate and the founder of The Wondering Wandering Vegan. Embracing veganism since 2018 and vegetarianism since 2005, Sinead is armed with a Vegan Health, Nutrition and Lifestyle qualification, and is on a mission to share her passion for cruelty-free living. 

With a taste for adventure and a heart for eco-conscious choices, she’s here to prove that vegans never miss out on flavour, fun or style. Join her in enjoying the delights of a vegan-friendly world! 🌱✈️🌍
Want to know more? Check out Sinead’s About page here.

Follow me on Instagram to see all the delicious vegan food I find, the vegan and cruelty-free products I use and what I get up to as a travelling vegan.

* required

Follow me on Instagram to see all the delicious vegan food I find, the vegan and cruelty-free products I use and what I get up to as a travelling vegan.

Know someone who'd be interested?