Are Noodles Vegan? What Makes Noodles Vegan-Friendly?
Last updated on September 11th, 2023
Are noodles vegan? Veganism is becoming so much more popular these days and many people are asking questions about the foods they can and cannot enjoy on a vegan diet.
One of the questions that often comes up a lot is about noodles, a staple in many cuisines around the world.
Are noodles vegan?
Some noodles are vegan and some noodles aren’t. Just like when I answer so many similar questions, the answer is sometimes. But don’t worry, I’m not going to leave it there. Let’s get into the details…
With various types of noodles available, from rice noodles and wheat noodles to egg noodles and veggie noodles, it can be confusing to figure out which ones are plant-based.
In this blog post, we’ll take a look into the world of noodles and decipher whether they’re vegan or not.
What Makes Noodles Vegan?
As you may know, people following a vegan diet avoid all animal products. So, noodles can be considered vegan if they don’t contain any ingredients that are animal-derived.
Are Egg Noodles Vegan?
When it comes to egg noodles, which are commonly used in Chinese dishes, things get difficult. As the name suggests, egg noodles are made with eggs, which are not vegan. Some egg noodles also contain dairy or other animal-derived ingredients too. These ingredients make them off-limits for vegans. It’s essential to read ingredient labels carefully to ensure that the noodles you’re considering are free from any animal products.
Plant-based Noodle Alternatives
If you’re following a vegan or plant-based diet, don’t worry, there are plenty of great options available. You can pick plant-based noodles up in most supermarkets in the UK and in any health food stores and online shops. You’ll usually find a good selection of plant-based noodles made from alternative ingredients.
Check out some popular plant-based noodle alternatives:
Rice Noodles are Vegan
Rice noodles are up first and as you’ve guessed they’re made from rice.
They’re a common staple in some Asian cuisines, especially Thai food, and probably my favourite. They’re usually made from just rice flour and water and are typically gluten-free and don’t contain any animal products, making them a great vegan-friendly option.
Soba noodles are a type of Japanese noodle made from buckwheat flour and water. They’re popular because of their nutty flavour that adds more depth to the dish. Soba noodles are often found in soups or stir-fried dishes.
Soba noodles are typically vegan, but it’s always important to check the label as some brands may add other ingredients.
Udon noodles are thick, wheat-based noodles commonly used in Japanese cuisine such as certain types of Raman soup.
While traditional udon noodles are made with wheat flour, water, and salt making them completely vegan-friendly noodles, you can still never be too careful because some variations may contain eggs or other animal products.
Again, always check the ingredient list to ensure they are vegan.
Veggie noodles are such a popular choice these days! They are great for those looking for a low-carb or gluten-free alternative to traditional wheat or rice-based noodles.
Veggie noodles can be made from a bunch of different vegetables such as zucchini, carrots, beetroot or sweet potatoes. You can buy them pre-packaged from a supermarket or if you’re feeling creative you can make them at home using a spiralizer.
These are one of my favourite options when it comes to making a dish that feels super healthy. Veggie noodles offer a unique, healthy and vegan twist to traditional noodle dishes.
I’m delighted the interest in veganism and plant-based diets keeps growing, it shows that more people want to make a positive change!
Are Ramen Noodles Vegan?
Yes, traditional ramen noodles are vegan. Ramen noodles are typically made from wheat flour, water, and salt. However, some variations of ramen noodles may contain eggs or other animal-derived ingredients. So, as I keep saying, it’s important to read the label carefully or ask the restaurant staff to confirm if they’re vegan or not.
Are instant noodles vegan?
Instant noodles are often a convenient, affordable and even tasty option for a quick meal.
However, there are so many types of instant noodles and not all instant noodles are vegan. Often, the actual noodles are, but many instant noodles contain flavour packets that contain animal-derived ingredients such as beef, chicken, or seafood flavourings.
Additionally, some instant noodles are actually egg noodles, meaning they of course are no good. It’s crucial to read the ingredient labels carefully and look for options that state they are suitable for vegans.
What Noodles are non-vegan?
Some types of noodles contain animal-derived ingredients and are not plant-based. For example, as mentioned earlier, egg noodles are made with eggs and are not vegan. Some other types of noodles, such as certain Asian noodles or speciality pasta, may contain eggs, seafood, or other animal products.
Labelling is getting much clearer so it’s becoming easier to look at the packaging and easily figure out if the product is vegan or not.
Noodles can be both vegan or not vegan depending on the type and ingredients used in their preparation. Fortunately, there are plenty of plant-based noodle alternatives available, such as rice noodles, soba noodles, udon noodles, and veggie noodles, which offer delicious options for those following a plant-based lifestyle.
When it comes to enjoying noodles, it’s easy! But it’s essential to always read ingredient labels carefully or ask the restaurant staff if needed, and choose clear plant-based alternatives when in doubt.
Follow me on Instagram to see all the delicious vegan food I find, the vegan and cruelty-free products I use and what I get up to as a travelling vegan.